• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

2010 Symposium Question

Hello all, this is my first post on this forum. I have been active in two other turning-related forums, so some may recognize me. I have been turning for over two years and have already purchased a second lathe (Jet mini to the biggest Jet this side of the pond) and more turning tools and equipment than I can count! I have even been making some of my own tools. I'm sure many can relate to this. I started big into pen making and after only three months of turning pens I was asked to give a demo for my local turning group (AWA). I have since branched out into larger more traditional turnings and have been roughing out lots of green wood lately. Turing time has slowed a bit the last several months due to the birth of our first child - yes, I made several 'Its a girl' pens out of pink corian, and a couple of rattles since...

Anyway, about the symposium:
Being roughly two hours from Hartford I am going to take full advantage of going to the symposium. I attended (volunteered for) the AWA's "Totally Turning" symposium last year and was amazed at how much I learned in only two days. I have hotel reservations and am looking forward to the experience of the national symposium.

My question is: What exactly is the Banquet/Auction?