1. Join the Go-To Source for Woodturners!

Please read the new sticky announcement here for full details.

Dismiss Notice

Best $1500 lathe?

Discussion in 'Woodturning Discussion Forum' started by Wheelman, Sep 29, 2009.

1. Wheelman

Wheelman

I've seen discussions concerning what lathe to purchase, but they are usually outside my price range unless I've missed the posts. I've been turning for a couple of years on a Rikon Mini turning small bowls, platters, pens etc.. I would like to move up to a full size lathe to turn larger bowls and platters. I need to hold the budget to around $1500 plus. At this price range, what would you suggest? It has to be mobile since my wife is still under the impression that at least one vehicle is allowed in the garage.

Thanks for your input!

2. Gary Chapman

Gary Chapman

mobile lathe

Have you checked on ebay? I was looking for a bowl lathe last spring and found a t2o hp woodfast for 2500 but the bid didn't reach that so I wrote the seller and bought it for $1500. Sometimes you can get a real deal there. Gary:):)

3. ScottH

ScottH

The Woodcraft October sale catalog just came out and they have the Nova DVR on sale for $1699.99...

4. Steve Harder

Steve Harder

And Woodcrafts sale on the Nova 1624 for $899 leaves you a lot of spare change to buy the larger chucks, etc that you will need. (And pay the $200 freight charge.)

I have the 1624. Yes, speed change requires a belt change, but otherwise it's a very solid lathe. I've added a ballast box with 400# and have turned 50# out of balance blanks with no problem.

Find the FineWoodworking review on lathes to get good reviews of the class of lathes that you are considering.

5. Dan Mosley

Dan Mosley

I got my Jet 1642 EVS with 2hp for a just a bit more than that and shipping costs........I think you can get a good lathe for that, watch Ebay and Craigs list.......I have picked up great deals on Craigs list as long as your not in a hurry........

6. john kadi

john kadi