• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Bottle Stopper finishes

Being a newbie, I am starting fairly small and am turning bottle stoppers (with both corks as well as stainless steel stoppers). I travel most weeks, on business, and bring them to the people I work with at the client site as a little something.

I found some references to the types of finishes used on stoppers by searching through the forum archives. Most were 2006 and earlier.

I was wondering if there has been any further discussion as to the types of finishes that would last longest. I have been using shellawax on my stoppers, but based on the remarks on the forum, I guess, the finish would not hold up very long.

One of the forum participants mentioned he would test out multiple types of finishes and respond on the forum, but had not found any further comments.

I have a couple of questions....(and I apologize for my naiety):

1) Is Minwax wood hardener the same as a sander sealer?

2) Do you think applying a sander sealer to the stopper first prior to the final coat and then applying a semi-gloss or gloss polyurethane coat would preserve the finish?

3) I have read in the forum about using Mahoney's walnut finish or a straight walnut oil finish to the wood... wouldn't you need to put an additional hard coat on top of the walnut oil?