Bowl steady tips?

Discussion in 'Woodturning Discussion Forum' started by Zach LaPerriere, Jan 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Zach LaPerriere

Zach LaPerriere

Home Page:
    I'm still a novice with the bowl steady, having only used it a dozen times or so on larger, thin bowls over the last several months. I honestly haven't found it helped as well as I had hoped, and I generally make do without. That said, there is a learning curve with everything on the lathe, and maybe I just haven't given it enough time to figure out the nuances of the bowl steady.

I'd love to hear how others are (or aren't) using them. Thanks!

2. charlie knighton

charlie knighton

I mainly use the one-way bowl steady for hf.....Position it close to lip as you would a bowl......Sometimes setting up you will need to adjust the height of the two wheels, or it may be that too much pressure is on the form...Both wheels should turn evenly......If really wet wood things can move while at lunch/break/talking-to fido

Zach LaPerriere likes this.
  3. john lucas

john lucas

The only time I've needed a bowl steady was on severa 12" diameter Bowl from a board projects that were thin to begin with. instead of a bowl steady I hot glued 4 "flying buttress's" between the bowl outside and the chuck. The sound scared the heck out of me but man did it work. Turned them down to 1/8". I have used a 3 wheel steady rest that I built from wood and inline skate wheels to steady a problem bowl that had what I thought might be a weak tenon. It worked well.

4. Tom Albrecht

Tom Albrecht

Which one are you using?

5. Zach LaPerriere

Zach LaPerriere

Home Page:
    Details! The Oneway.

I think some of my vibration issues have to do with the softer woods I turn...they just aren't as stiff as the hardwoods 99% of turners work with.

6. Bill Boehme

Bill Boehme Administrator Staff Member

Home Page: