• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Buffing system?

hello all,

I'm really new to this, I've been reading on oil finishing and it seem that I need to buff my bowls after applying the Minwax Antique Oil finish. Do I need to buy the Beall buffing system? It seem to be the most discussed buffing system. Any other options recommended?

Bill Boehme

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
pbase.com
I frequently use Minwax Antique Oil Finish. It is actually a blend of varnish and linseed oil. I generally apply two or three applications, but sometimes I will apply several more coats if I want a high gloss finish. I have never felt a need to buff the finish. The goal of buffing is to increase the surface gloss which can be accomplished by adding another cost of finish. This is more durable than buffing.

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
I love my buffing system. Almost all of my work is buffed any more. It just makes the final finish look that much nicer. I'm not looking for a perfect gloss just a a cleaner look than I get right off the finish. I use 4" buffs instead of the 8" wheels. I still use the Beal wax sticks.

Thanks John,

I saw many finishes on YouTube after buffing, I like th shine it provides. I was not sure if I had to buy a buffing system yet. Whoever said the lathe is the small investment of woodturning was not kidding :)