• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Burning hands?

I am new at turning bowls, and I am working on an 8" ambrosia maple bowl right now. The lathe is set at 1100 rpm and the bevel is rubbing I am getting a nice burnished cut. My problem is that when I use an overhand grip I am burning the snot out of my hand neer my pinkie. The streamers are hot!

Is this normal? am I doing something wrong? What do you do to prevent this?

You think the ambrosia maple is hot.... turn some old air dried walnut... I ended up having to wear a glove on my hand to keep the shavings and chips from burning my hand....
Dried wood will be hot...

Yup, that do happen.

I use a leather work glove on my left hand which has the tips of the fingers cut off and most of the thumb. Works just fine for hot shavings as well as preventing scratches and nicks from tool rest nicks.

Mark

Website
sawsndust.com
Yep...tight fingerless glove on the left hand for me, too, when turning dry cherry, maple, etc. Those hot shavings once gave me a second-degree (blistered) burn. Never again. Please note that there are safety considerations with this kind of thing and such a glove needs to fit snugly and not have anything that can easily get caught on the tool.