• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

CA Finish Issue

I have been turning for a few months, but only have a little free time. I've done about 15 pens, and about 25 rings. I do not love CA glue as a finish, but I have done ok with it. 2 out of the last 3 pens I have had the same problem. When sanding the finish, through the grits of micro mesh, I start getting black lines through the finish. I don't know if it's the glue, or the micro mesh. I've thought maybe my glue is old, although it's not very old at all. I wonder if the glue got hot during sanding, or if maybe the mm is breaking down. I got away from using activator, because I had a very nice pen that the finish shattered on. It looks like a broken windshield, all over the entire surface. I try to let each coat dry, then add another. After all coats are on, I let it turn to dry completely, before sanding. The latest pen never seemed to get beyond tacky. Any advice here would be appreciated. Thanks,

Kevin

AlanZ

Resident Techno Geek
By some chance are you picking up some black from bushings at the ends of the blanks?
This only really applies when using a mandrel.