• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Cole jaw stops

I'm new to turning and I've had a couple of occasions when a bowl I've been turning has flown out of the cole jaws. The rubber stops are rather short cylinders. My instinct is that a slightly longer stop that is a bit wider at the top and narrower where it attaches to the jaws would reduce the likelihood of this occuring. I've done a quick online search and haven't seen anything. Any thoughts?

Thank you!

Hi make sure you are not turning at more than 600 rpm and take light cuts with very sharp tools agood way is to have a slight outwards tapper on the top of your bowl

securing a bowl with cole jaws

shop made stops of wood wrapped with weatherstrip foam are one alternative to the stock rubber stops. Easier still is taping the bowl to the clamped-on bowl using fiberglass reinforced packing tape.

Thank you

Thanks for the responses. I've purchased some hard rubber stoppers that are wider at the top than at the base. And they're a bit longer than those that came with the cole jaws. I'll give these a try. But I really am impressed with Rick's suggestions and may come back to them if my little experiment fails.