• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Food safe bowl finishes

Ira

I am fairly new at woodturning and am in search of a durable, high gloss, food safe bowl finish. I have several bowls waiting to be finished the materials range from cherry to beach to maple. I would appreciate any input. Thanks in advance!

Ira

Website
www.abhats.com
Food Safe Finishes - high gloss

I've successfully used both high-gloss tung oil and urethane oil. The urethane oil dries quicker and is less prone to getting dust in it, but does not strengthen wood like tung oil. Both give a great shine and are very clear. I'm also using Fiberall instead of steel wool - it doesn't leave minute metal particles.

Steve Worcester

Admin Emeritus
Website
www.turningwood.com
Welcome to the fold my friend.

You have touched on one of the most controversial subjects in woodturning. I say this because food-safe will split the camps in two.

1)Those who say the finish must be FDA certified (or tested at least) to be food-safe, non-toxic, etc.

2) Those who say that all finishes are food safe once they have been properly cured.

PERSONALLY, I fall into group 1. The main reason for this is that I sell my products and I do not want any leverage against me after the sale.