• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Footed Bowl

Emiliano Achaval

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
hawaiiankoaturner.com
I have been waiting for the right candidate, finally today, this Koa bowl told me he wanted some feet to lift a little off the table.
I read about this on a AAW magazine from 1994... This is my first try... Now that I know how, I can go for longer feet...
Jim, (last name coming soon) he is from Minnesota, he spent all day at my shop, helping me, sharing ideas and having fun. I started live streaming, I'm using ustream.tv an IBM company. I had 32 viewers today... Had people from as far as Argentina watching us work on the bowl...
C & C welcome.... IMG_1374.jpgIMG_1378.jpg

This is my first adding pictures, not sure if I'm doing right...
Aloha from Maui.

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
Very nice. YOu need to pay attention to how the grain runs if you want longer or skinnier feet. It looks like it's side grain somewhat in that piece and that would leave a weak foot. Same is true with handles on bowls. when I teach carving feet I show them how the grain runs on a side grain bowl vs an end grain bowl and how the carved parts might be changed to strengthen the weak grain areas.

Emiliano Achaval

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
hawaiiankoaturner.com
Footed bowl end grain