• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Gantry Crane

I have been turning large bowls for the last two years, ever since I bought a VB36. When I say large I mean 24" in diameter was the largest, the average being 16". Using the McNaughton Center Saver, I am able to make a lot of bowls. Handling the big blanks has become a major problem. I use a hand truck to bring them into the shop, and a one ton shop crane to mount them on the lathe.

The problem is outside. I can bring the logs home and cut them up into sections equal to the diameter, and using a peavey move them around. I roll the sections onto pressure treated (PT):) 4x4's. Since each section weights over 70 Lbs., I cannot stack them. The problem comes when I rip them in half and round the halves into bowls blanks. In order to do this I am bent over using a chain saw with a 20" bar. It was killing my back even with a weight belt on. What to do? I needed to get the sections up on a saw buck. Given the wieght of each, how was I going to do this?