• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Glue

I've been using the Titebond ll provided by the shop for the last three years. Now that I am setting up my home shop I'm open to change. I have no issues with the glue but I notice that Titebond lll is now being sold and advertised as having different qualities, like setting and drying times. Anybody with experience with both? Preference? Titebond lll is about 50% more expensive but that's not a big deal with the amount of glue I expect to use on segmented rings.

Newberg, OR: 20mi SW of Portland: AAW #21058
Preference? … on segmented rings.

Over the last 6 months, I’ve taken to using Weldbond for segmented pieces. Max Kimmel recommended it for rims and foots for alabaster work and it dries absolutely clear, has good tack time for rubbed bonds, and a decent price (though I don’t recall the differences between the Titebonds and Weldbond).

I've been using the Titebond ll provided by the shop for the last three years. Now that I am setting up my home shop I'm open to change. I have no issues with the glue but I notice that Titebond lll is now being sold and advertised as having different qualities, like setting and drying times. Anybody with experience with both? Preference? Titebond lll is about 50% more expensive but that's not a big deal with the amount of glue I expect to use on segmented rings.