• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Help to Rejuvenate a Powermatic Model 90

I am relatively new to turning. Have an old delta that I have turned spindles on for roughly a year and joined an AAW club recently. Am interested in bowl turning and more spindle work and acquired a Model 90 from a school. It is 3 phase, 1 HP and probably made in late 70's. At the very least I have to get a static converter to run 220 single phase in, 3 phase out. I understand I will lose about a third of the HP. I am wondering if I would be better to go with a VFD (single phase in, 3phase out) and use my the stock motor (if it will be compatible) or should I get a drive rated motor and VFD. Would you advise staying with the 1 HP if I go down the new motor route or a larger HP rating. Should I pull out the reeves pulley system. I believe this lathe has a jackshaft between the headstock and motor. Are there any links or threads I can read regarding some of these changes. Thanks for your comments.
Jeff

There may be some disagreement with the following, but here is my two cents worth.

Get the static converter, or, depending on cost, a single phase replacement.