• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

High School Engineering group needs your help.

Hello all! I am a student attending my senior year of high school and am in the Purdue University PLTW EDD engineering class. We are required to design and create a prototype for a solution to a problem. Our problem is the wood-turning of non-radially symmetric or irregular shaped woods.
-How many of you have an issue with turning non-radially symmetric or irregularly shaped woods?
-How many of you own/feel you could benefit from owning a two jaw chuck?
-How often would you personally need/use one?
-What are some alternatives instead of a two jaw chuck for turning non radially symmetric pieces?
-If you use an alternative way, are there any safety issues?

Thanks again everyone. Any responses would be very helpful to us, either posted in response to this post, or in a PM.

non-radially symmetric

Andrew,
Most wood, bone, stone or other inanimate object I put on the lathe starts out as "non-radially symmetrical".
In answer to the first question, I don’t know how many turners have issues, I don’t.
Second question, I just remove two opposing jaws and I have a two jaw chuck.
I’m sure I’m not the only one who does this.
Third, not often, a few times a year maybe.
Forth, Double stick tape for small stuff, nylon strap or chain to a wood faceplate for large stuff.