• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Jet Mini Lathe tune up suggestions

I am a newbie. At this for about 3 months, and have finally gained enough tools to do some serious turning. After a the last month of turning, I have become SERIOUSLY addicted to the thing. However, I need to learn some things.

First, I have a Jet mini lathe 10-14VS. Had it for 3 years before I touched it.

Developed my first problem. My steb center (Aprentise black) began seizing in the MT and I could not get the dang thing out. I resorted to having to wail on the rod with a heavy mallet to get it free. Did it a second time.

I felt the step center, and I could feel tiny ridges with my thumb nail. I decided to use 400 grit paper and polish it up, and also clean out the MT to make it smooth. It seems to have solved the problem.

Except, I think I damaged the bearing in the lathe. It now make noise, and seems to bog down more than it did before.

Called Jet and ordered two new BB which I plan to replace.

Question: Are there a set of things I can do to "tune up" my Jet and make it run at its best? For example, when I took out the drive center shaft, the belt wheel was a bit rough on the shaft, so I cleaned it up and over all tryied to make things fit smoother and easy to disassemble.

Any home modifications? I already replaced the cheapo plastic end of the rod with a nice turned piece of maple. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.