• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Lathe speeds

I am not new to wood turning but I am new to my 3520 lathe. I have turned on my old lathe for 30 yrs but always at the same speed, 875. All tasks were accomplished at that speed and I just got use to it. I know there are speeds better suited for different tasks. Can I get input as to what speed ranges would be best for different stages such as rough out, shaping, finish cuts, sanding?
Thanks in advance

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
Dwayne,

Just use the speed control knob and don't worry about the actual speed.

When I'm roughing I put the belt in a lower max speed range this gives you finer control of speed,
turn the speed all the way down with the lathe off
mount the blank,
balance it for weight so it isn't real heavy on any side,
Turn the lathe on and dial up the speed to where there is acceptable vibration.

As I turn the speed up there will be a point where vibration begins or the blank looks good and I start roughing.
If the vibration begins a lower speed I will try a little higher speed looking for one with less vibration.
As the speed increases you have a vibration point, worse vibration, and sometimes a speed 50-100 rpm faster with less vibration.

For sanding I turn the speed low. If I'm not getting a steady dust stream with a good disc I slow the speed to where the dust stream appears.