• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Looking for a 1inchx8tpi to 1-1/2x8tpi spindle adapter

I'm very new to woodturning, so I apologize for this question in advance.

I found a Glaser Screw Chuck online for purchase but it is a 1 1/2inch screw diameter(fits conover lathe). I have looked for a 1 inch to 1 1/2 inch headstock spindle adapter but can seem to find everything but. Is there anyone out there that may know where I can get an adapter with those dimensions (also 8tpi)? I looked at the PSI international but they don't have an adapter that size.

Thanks in advance....Dave

Be careful about the adapter. I think it's a Powermatic that also has 1-1/2x8 spindle, but its threads are different than a Conover's. So for instance, a screw chuck threaded for a Conover would work on the Powermatic, but the Powermatic chuck would not fit the Conover.

Be careful about the adapter. I think it's a Powermatic that also has 1-1/2x8 spindle, but its threads are different than a Conover's. So for instance, a screw chuck threaded for a Conover would work on the Powermatic, but the Powermatic chuck would not fit the Conover.

Can you elaborate on this?