• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Looking for information on sanding

I am relatively new to wood turning and looking for information on sanding. Specifically how to tell the difference between tool marks and sanding lines and how to tell between the series of scratches left behind by the different grades of sandpaper. For example if I am going from 80 to 120 to 180 and I am doing the 180 how do I know that the scratches I am seeing on the harder parts of the piece are not from my 80 or 120 sanding? Or to put it another way how do I know that all the sanding lines/scratches I am seeing are from the latest 180 session and I am safe to go on to the next finest grit? I find myself seeing obvious lines/scratches when I put on a finish and I don't know how far back in grits I need to go to remove them. I do rub on a shellac mixture after I sand at 120 as a test to see what I can see before going all the way to 4 or 600 grit. I sand at the slowest speed my lathe allows and I hand sand with 'regular' off the shelf sandpaper. Not using a rotary power sander on my drill. So all the scratches are concentric. I do not have a way to reverse my lathe. I to end the turning with tools with a sharpened scraper to remove as much tear out as possible depending on grain orientation.