Opinions on contractor table saws

Discussion in 'Newbie' started by Brent Wells, Oct 20, 2014.

1. Brent Wells

Brent Wells

Hello all first time posting. I was curious what opinions you guys and gals had on contractor table saws, and which are the best. My shop is in my basement and I don't need to rip anything huge so I think contractor size is my best bang for my buck and space is a premium. I will mostly be using for segmented work, making pen blanks, general use, ect. I will be hooking up my jet dc1100vx-cx 1.5 hp dust collector to it. I have band saw and mitre saw so I am mainly looking for something to do accurate cuts . Pens, bowls , platters, vases , pepper mills are my interests . I am new to turning, have only had my lathe for a year which is a jet 1221vs so I won't be turning anything huge until I upgrade lathe down the road. I have looked at bosch 4100, dewalt, ridgid. Sawstop was nice but for price I would upgrade lathe first. Safety is always a priority. Thanks for input it is appreciated. Sorry for grammar/ misspellings as I am typing on phone and if this is posted in wrong forum.

Thanks

Brent

2. Brent Wells

Brent Wells

I forgot to mention as my skills grow and evolve I would like something that would not become just a paper weight down the road.

Brent

3. jschnell1203

jschnell1203

Home Page:
    I had a craftsman contractor saw and the stand was real unstable. I now have a old Unisaw and love it but for you if you using it for smaller wood a contractor saw should be fine.

4. Shawn Pachlhofer

Shawn Pachlhofer

band saw does just fine roughing out these items - they don't need to be that accurate - and IMO, the band saw is faster.

if you're going to be segmenting - the table saw will definitely come in handy.

Barry Crowder likes this.
  5. Bill Boehme

Bill Boehme Administrator Staff Member

Home Page: