• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Small chuck advice?

I am pretty new at modern turning. I have a Jet 1221VS with a Nova G3 chuck. That might seen mighty small to many of you but, I'm finding that I'm turning small things and would like an even smaller chuck. I have a lot of 2x2 (1.875 x 1.875) and when I turn to round, the G3 is just too big to grip.
I've made pens and a few bowls and am enjoying that but, but, also want to be able to make other small things like ornaments.
Anyone have a suggestion for a chuck that is good for 1" - 2" spigots? I know that Nova makes smaller jaw sets but, would prefer a complete chuck and not be swapping jaws back and forth. Besides, with a nova and adapter to fit the Jet 1"x8tpi threads I can not run lathe backwards for finishing.

Appreciate any tips for this old, newbie.
Regis

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
The Oneway talon is a great little chuck.
I turned a hundreds of hollow ball ornament caps and finials with "1 spigot jaws in a talon chuck.
I used 1/2 tenon on the cap and a 3/4 inch tenon on the lcecicle which were 6-8" long.

I made all my tenons with a peeling cut with a 1/2" skew.
My tenons were a little over a 1/2 long the length of the cutting edge of the skew.