• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Turning gouge handles

Ladies & Gentlemen,
I am a novice to woodturning and have joined the local AAW on Cape Cod as well as the National Association. A mentor has recently assisted(completed) a nice bowl that I hollowed too far and went through the bottom. (another story). He has gone south for the next month or so(smart fellow) and so today I started turning a handle for my Thompson bowl gouge that I received this week. It doesn't look toooooo bad but when I attempted to drill out a 1/2 inch hole for the gouge, it started to get off center (It is in an old Nova scroll chuck) I wasn't using a brad point bit- perhaps that was the problem. Is there a a special technique for drilling or am I going to end up with a handle 14 inches shorter than it is now?

Thanks for any advice. I'll be going to the AAW meeting nest Wednesday so I'll be asking them also.

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
I always drill my tool handles first. Then put the tailcenter in the hole and turn the handle. the hole will always be centered this way. I prefer to use a live center tip that will fit the hole exactly and I've made a few out of wood that fit over the original live center point. However a standard 60 degree point will work just fine.

John,