• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Upgrading Chucks

I've been using Nova chucks for several years on my Jet 1642 and have been happy with them but am setting up a Powermatic 3520B at a different location and was wondering what other turners thought about upgrading to Vicmark or Oneway chucks. I will need to buy 2-3 chucks anyway for the new shop.
I do a variety of turning from small boxes to larger bowls. Occasionally hollow forms.
Thanks, Rob

Brother, I started with Nova chucks, even have a brand new infinity and lots of jaws I want to dump because I just could never like the lefty tighty, righty loosey thing. I tried an Easy Chuck from Easy Wood tools, and have never looked back, got a second one just because, but they are brilliant, made in America, first rate product. You can literally change a full set of jaws in under 30 seconds. The 'zoom' ring lets you open or close jaws to your works size in seconds and then you just finally snug it up with the included(!) T-wrench. I would strongly recommend them for anyone looking for a one and done Chuck.
You will love it!

Last edited: