• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Urethane vs Polyurethane

Is there a difference? I have been applying a three part finish to some turnings for several years. Equal parts of Tung Oil, Linseed Oil and Urethane. I needed to make a new batch and realized I have no Urethane left. Off to the hardware store only to be told Urethane was no longer available. "But, we have Polyurethane and that has replaced Urethane". HHMMM! Is this true. I can't seem to find Urethane anywhere.

What's in a name? The witches said it first. "Macbeth, you're a Thane!" Urethane was ethyl carbamate first, but polyurethane is not the polymerized version. Confusing? Means that what you got as "urethane" wasn't really the same stuff that is regulated in fermented beverages, but a resin which was composed of larger molecules containing carbamate groups.

A lot of choices out there in finishes with (poly)urethane, oil or water based. If you still have your old container, check out the % of solids and resin, then match it and your solvent so you don't have to discard any tricks you may have developed with your former finish. You are, of course, obliged to divulge them here in payment for the explanation.