Vacuum setup

Discussion in 'Tutorials and Tips' started by oldgriz, Jun 30, 2004.

1. oldgriz

oldgriz

I have a Jet 1236 and would like to set up a vacuum system for it.. since the handwheel screws into the spindle and not on the outside like most lathes I have seen.. what options do I have for setting up a vacuum system..
    Thanks for any advice...

Tom Mullane
    Old Griz Scroll Art

Last edited: Jun 30, 2004
  2. Mark Mandell

Mark Mandell

Griz,

Best is the Packard E-Z Vac deal that mounts through the spindle. I set up my old 1236 that way and it was great. I did add a rubber "O" ring to the flange end to make a better seal to the morse taper.

Mark Mandell

3. Gynia

Gynia

I have been using the EZ vac for a few years, sans o-ring, without any problems. I got a new lathe a while back and all I had to do was get a new piece of lamp tube for everything to work again.

4. Wilford Bickel

Wilford Bickel

My lathe is threaded internally on the handwheel hookup also and I set up my vacuum system with the EZ Vac unit from Woodturners Supply. I did add a O ring as Mark suggested and have had no problems with the system.

Wilford

5. Andrew

Andrew

Home Page:
    Use something like the E-Z Vacuum system like others have noted or just simply find the correct size and TPI of short length pipe to screw in there and make a new handwheel with a rotary adapter setup. That way you can have your vacuum setup available along with your headstock spindle morse taper and use of the knockout bar without having to remove the vacuum setup.

6. alanjones

alanjones

I also have the 1236. Should the threads inside the spindle be reverse threaded? Does anyone know, having already built a system for the 1236, what the proper sizing specs are for the inside of the spindle. I have turned for a short while, but on my father's equipment. I now have my own lathe, and after using his vacuum setup, I have to build my own. His is all factory made stuff and I want to try myself to build it.