• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

What is the name of this tool?

Good morning...

I am a newbie who is taking lessons from a great teacher/mentor/friend and longtime woodturner, Peter Lamb. He was showing me a tool yesterday but did not know the name of it. It looks like a double comb but instead of plastic teeth, there are many metal pins. You can press it up against a spindle, top, bottlestopper, etc., the pins fill in the spaces of the spindle and on the opposite side you can see the reverse impression. This can be used to help mimic the shape of subsequent objects being turned...

Does anyone know what this tool is and where I can get one?

Thanks in advance....

Dave Kartzman :)

Tool Name

They are called contour gauges. I just checked the Highland Woodworking catalog and they have 2 sizes of contour gauges, 5" and 10".
Tim Carter

From at least one source, it's called a Contour Gauge. "Profile" might be another good key word for searching for one from another vendor.

EDIT:
Hey! Where'd those other posts come from while I composin' this one?

Last edited:

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert