• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Budget chainsaw size for a hobbyist?

So the only chainsaw I have is a terrible Lowes electric one and I rarely use it. But to get back into wet turning, I need a decent chainsaw.

I'm a hobbyist so $200-300 on a chainsaw is pretty stiff of an expensive purchase but I don't want to buy junk. It takes all I got to keep my 1980 Evinrude running so the last thing I need is a cheap chainsaw that needs constant carb fiddling. I like the idea of electric but I'm going to get gas so that it's portable, I live in Charleston SC so a chainsaw comes in handy during storm season anyhow.

The biggest thing I'm able to turn is about 10-12" diameter. I'm guessing a 16" saw would be plenty here. I can get a homeoner grade Stihl 16" for under $250. Opinions? The Stihl repair shop is next door to my job so that's nice, I use a Stihl weed eater from there.

If you had an approx budget of $250, and a 12" lathe, what would you get?

I know keeping a sharp blade is the real key by the way.

I have a Stihl ms180 that has worked well for me when I started. It cut through anything I wanted to and probably shouldn't have. I did upgrade to a ms271 the other day for the 20 inch bar to cut bigger blanks. Does your shop close to you have any used ones? Check the pawn shops too.