• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Moulthrop Family Bowl Finish and Techniques – What do you know?

Ed Moulthrop (1916-2003) was a self-taught wood turner, known as the "father of modern woodturning". ... He was most famous for his large scale turned bowls, made from domestic woods, usually spherical or elliptical with polished clear finishes. The finishes the Moulthrop’s use are what I am requesting the AAW bowl turning community to share their insights on. Please watch the attached video link below on the Moultroup’s bowl turning legacy an techniques. Focus on frames after the 2:30 minute mark. I am assuming that the finish is standard epoxy but how do they control the viscosity and clarity. Also shown in the video is the family’s design of a drying apparatus. Does anyone have a smaller version of the apparatus. The quick release system from the lathe and attachment to the drying machine is unique in itself. Share what you know or can deduce from the video.

Moulthrop video link: http://youtu.be/cj5pg7B5VWg

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!
I was aware of, and read about Ed Moulthrop's works long before his son took over the family tradition.......