• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Turning injury

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!
Funny you mention that actually. This morning I was thinking about wrapping the handles in hockey tape. I've done that on my clamp handles and it's a major increase in grip.

I've been wrapping my turning tools with hockey tape for about three decades!......really does help with the grip, but the wrinkles caused by varying diameters in the handle, make it look like a sloppy duct tape repair job! No problem, nobody cares! :)

There is a reason why those hockey players wrap their hockey sticks with this stuff.....and, you just have to try it to find out why. A roll is only a few bucks, if you buy several rolls at a whack. I've tried several brands, but the Renfrew brand seems to be the best overall.....

Oh, BTW......I occasionally put the turning tool under my arm, and can't recall dropping it from there.......I suspect the hockey tape might have something to do with it.... (Not that I've never dropped a turning tool, but that's just plain old carelessness!)

-----odie-----

Click on the photo and click it again for a closeup view.
IMG_1180.JPG

Last edited: