• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Wood ID

I was given a bowl blank that was purchased from either Rockler or Woodcraft but no species identification.

I'm new to this and have limited experience with turning and wood species. I've turned a bit of pine, fir, walnut, oak, cedar, osage orange, pecan and hackberry.
None were near as hard as the wood in question. A lot of trips to the grinder. The little black pits are curiously interesting too.
Any ideas? Thanks.

Attachments

• Pic1.jpeg
    Pic1.jpeg
    539.9 KB · Views: 115
  • Pic2.jpeg
    Pic2.jpeg
    624.7 KB · Views: 114
  • Pic3.jpeg
    Pic3.jpeg
    455.4 KB · Views: 115

Dave Landers

Beta Tester
Website
dlwoodturning.com
I realize it's just mostly curiosity, I'm of the opinion that if I don't know what kind of wood it is, who really cares. You made a pretty nice bowl from "some sort of wormy wood". Let the bowl (and its maker) "speak" rather than deferring to the species.

Only problem with the bowl is you haven't signed it (yet?).