• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Woodturning design software

looks good. i see a problem ( for me) in that the dimensions shown look to be metric. i wonder if they have version in fractions.

Don't do it!

I'm a graphic designer by profession, and I will caution you against using software to assist you. I started tuning from designs I created on the computer and found that it really tied my hands. I have learned something new with every piece I have turned. I believe the longer you turn the more you will be able to do it intuitively. There are many teaching aids like books and tapes, and I highly recommend viewing the work of others. While a computer can be helpful with planing a segmented piece or something requiring a little geometry, for the most part it will probably restrict you.

Website
www.woodturningdesign.info
Caution

Before you buy software you have to decide what it is you want it to do for you. All software and the person using it, have limitations and opportunities.