• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Sorby 1/16 Fluted Parting Tool

I received a 1/16 Sorby Parting Tool as a gift. Can anyone give me some advice on using this tool. I can't seem to use it without getting a catch??? I've been turning for a couple of years and have used all kinds of gouges, scrapers, parters and skews with almost never a catch. But when I pick this one up I feel like a beginner.

Which one do you have-there are 2 styles of this tool from Sorby. Then we should be able to help better. These tools are designed to be used straight in with an arc motion.

It cuts kind of like a scraper. Use a hone to sharpen the bevel. You want the long edge on the toolrest. Push the tool in about its thickness to start the part, then, back out, and go in again at a slight angle to widen the kerf. You can then begin to get a bit more agressive about the part once you've widened the kerf a bit.

Oops, didn't notice you said fluted. In general, you use it with the flute down. The two little prongs dig in and start the cut and guide the cut. Same comment about making your kerf a bit wider.

I have a 1/8 fluted parting tool. I don't like it, and use it to make small decorative beads. If the flutes run the length of the bottom of the tool (mine does that), I have a thin strip of hardwood that I use to protect my toolrest.

Last edited:

Bill Boehme

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website