• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Good Bandsaw for a Wood Turner

I've been turning for a couple years off and on, mostly spindles and a few bowls. I'm getting to the point where I want to do more bowls and am finding that a bandsaw would be very useful. Looking to buy one when I decide which one and was wondering if anyone could recommend one they have or would like to have.
Would like as much power as possible, obviously. 12 inch resaw capacity or so. Price preferred would be from 900 or less to abt 1100 or so on sale, as there are a lot of sales right now. Even a bench top would be fine.
Also if I can ask is there anything I don't want or need in the way of features or brands, etc. Thank you.

I've got a Jet 14" bandsaw with a 6" riser kit that has served me well. I've also heard good things about the Rikon bandsaws. Both of these would be in your price range. I don't have any problem roughing out 6" thick bowl blanks. Obviously, there are bigger and more powerful bandsaws out there. You just have to figure out how much you need.

Yes thank you, there are many, in fact too many, with many differing opinions. The Jet 14 inch was one I was considering. They make a couple with 12 inch resaw capacity I believe. Those were the ones I was considering. It would be easier if there was 1 or 2 choices and that was it. More choice more hesitation. Thx again

brian horais

Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website