• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Rockwell tools

I inherited a Rockwell lathe and tools, probably 60s vintage. I’ve been turning a bit with it for a few years and recently started researching in more detail the brands and types of tools on the market.
I’m curious where on the spectrum the basic Rockwell tools lie.
Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.

Peter, when you say "basic Rockwell tools" are you asking about Rockwell tools such as bowl gouges, parting tools, roughing gouges etc.? Or asking, where does a "Rockwell lathe" stack up against todays lathes on the market?

Ps. I see you're in Earlysville... Google says you're 48 minutes away from Fishersville...
Shameless plug...
Virginia Woodturning Symposium 2020
“Shape Your Vision”
November 7‐8, 2020
Expoland – Fishersville, Virginia

Here's the history. http://vintagemachinery.org/mfgindex/detail.aspx?id=698
There really isn't a comparison between vintage lathes and today's lathes. Early woodturning as a hobby was mainly about making spindles. Maybe someone would make a nut bowl, a candy dish, a cake stand, but very little inspiration to do decorative work. So heavy bearings and big spindles weren't a requirement to meet the demand. The machinery was good for the time.