• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Clamp green and then dry?

Greetings,

I'm still fairly new to turning and unfortunately patience hasn't been my virtue. But I had an idea and was just wondering if this might be do-able or if anyone else has already tried it....before I give it a go.
  1. Using green wet wood, turn a basic bowl to final shape and thickness.
  2. Then put a circle or band clamp around the exterior rim and perhaps a ringed form clamped into the interior of the rim to "lock in" the shape.
  3. Then air dry or put it in kiln while it's clamped.
The goal being to expedite drying time and maintain the original shape with minimal warpage and movement.

Might that work ? I'm sure the type of wood and size/shape all factor in but in general??

Regards,
Rick

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!
Only one way to find out for sure...... ! :D

Off hand, I'd suspect you could minimize the warping......but, unless the band clamp is perfectly rigid, it will allow some warping anyway.

-----odie-----