• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Laguna 18/36 vs Powermatic 3520C

I'm a self-taught woodturner who's been turning on a Jet 1236. It's been fine for my bowl turning, but I'd like to step up to the next level machine which I can grow into. I'm not turning regularly, nor do I expect that I'd make it a profession. Bowls are my focus. I think you all know the satisfaction in giving away gifts.

I've been looking at the Laguna 18/36 and the PM 3520c. This forum is great and I've read as much as I can on the two machines. I'll also say that I looked at the Nova Galaxi Revo, but it doesn't seem to garner much support.

Who else has gone through this decision? What tipped your scales one way or the other?

Both seem to be fantastic lathes, with the PM apparently being more of a "pro" or "forever" machine.
Any opinions on Laguna 110v vs 220v?

Thanks!

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
Take a look at the Jet 1840.
Did a demo on this machine and I would not spend $2k more for the Powermatic unless I needed to turn 18” bowls.

Spend the savings on a quality class.
I was self taught turner and doing pretty well.
In 1994 a week long class with Liam O’Neil and a week with David Ellsworth in 1995 let me reach a level of expertise so I could sell enough work to buy a ONEWAY in 1997.

Last edited:

Mark Hepburn

Artist & Chef