• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Termites - what to do?

Finishing the turning phases of a large mistletoe-burl mesquite about 25" tall and maybe 13" diameter. Got the wall thickness down to a bit under 1/2" and noticed termites.
I've been turning large mesquite for over ten years and have never seen these critters.
My thinking is to spray heavily with a chemical, then sand to remove any staining. Or I could mix in a 5-gal bucket and douse on end, then the other and let dry. Or I could do either of the above and place in a garbage bag for a few days.
Any suggestions from the forum would be hugely appreciated.

tall mesquite 5_25_2020.jpg

I doubt the efficacy of pesticides in this application. I helped my nieces husband build a dinning room table using a 12/4 slab that had not been kiln dried. Upon completion he found sawdust under the table and then discovered termites. Pest control was called and they recommended cold storage.

He found a cold storage warehouse for frozen food and took it to them to freeze for a week or so.

No more termites.

" Optimum temperatures for termites range from 75°F to 95°F (24°C to 35°C). At temperatures above 100°F or below 25°F, termites may die in a matter of minutes"

I would clean out my freezer - yes imagine that! - and freeze it for a week.