• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Proper turning speeds

Hi

I am new to woodturning and have been viewing many videos. The videos are very good for getting a feel of the proper technique for using a gouge. But they never mentioned the the rpm that is being used. For example, they will say 'for sanding use a low speed' or in a bowl or spindle video the will be no mention of the rpm used. What is a general guide line for the correct and safe rpm.

Correct and safe can be defined as mostly what you are comfortable with. For sanding usually between 200 and 400 works well due to mostly the fact that higher speeds will cause bounce and the paper will mostly float over the surface.

Now for turning speed is determined by what you are turning. For example a 2 inch spindle is safe at 2000 but a 12 inch bowl not so. In general terms faster gets a better cut but may not be safe. Blanks should be started slower (from 200 to 500) until irregularities are removed. then speed can be adjusted. There are some charts I am sure someone will post but I usually turn 10 inch bowls at 800 to 1000. For hollowing a bit slower may be required.

Eventually you will get a feel for the speed and know if the lathe is vibrating either something is wrong in setup or you have the speed too high. Better to erro on the side of slower than to be too fast when that catch happens.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team