• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Segmented bowl turning question, what am I doing wrong?

I am a relative beginner to turning and segmented bowl turning in particular. I have been making the bottom Of my bowls a segmented disc in 8, 12, or 16 segments. After some time I noticed the bottom of some bowls are cracking along one of the segment lines through the center l suppose to expansion or contraction of the wood. Is making the bottom with segments the wrong thing to do? Should I be turning a round disc out of a single piece of wood? My bottom segments have been typically 3” to 6” diameter for bowls up to 10” diameter so far.

Attachments

• A5653F10-618F-4C53-80A1-74474FD154CD.jpeg
    A5653F10-618F-4C53-80A1-74474FD154CD.jpeg
    115 KB · Views: 42

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert