• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Pyrography Question

Emiliano Achaval

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
hawaiiankoaturner.com
I have to admit that my knowledge about pyrography goes as far as burning my name and name of the wood on my work. I have used it to embellish work. I have a Burnmaster pen and one old Cub little controlling unit. My daughter has been collaborating on some work with me. Of course I'm impartial, but she's doing and done some very nice work. A few weeks ago I believe @Bill Boehme asked me what I was using... What I got out that thread is that if you are serious about pyrography, there are better units and pens. I want to surprise my daughter with the best pyro unit. Is the Burnamaster pen not as good as others? What do you guys recommend? Today she kept me company, she was burning all day. Was kind of nice to have her with me... While I was watching her, I was surprised by how little smoke, if any she was making. I mentioned this because I believe Bill asked me how much smoke comes out of the work with the pens that I have. Today she did some strings of flowers, leaves and more, not just lines, she's actually drawing first with a pencil, once she's happy she goes over with the burnmaster. Thanks in advance. Aloha