• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Lathe Power Input

Hey all,

I'm new to the forum; I'm 23 and I've been turning now for 4 years, focusing most on turning bowls/hollows on my Jet Mini. Because of the major limitations (size and weight) of the mini, I'm looking to buy a full-size lathe soon. I've narrowed my choices down to either the Jet 1642 (2 hp version), or the PM 3520B. I don't have any 220v outlets available, but will be having one installed special for the lathe when I make the purchase. My question though, the 1642 is listed as being a 230v motor, not 220v like the powermatic. Is there a difference in a 220v outlet vs. a 230v one? If I choose to buy the Jet, can/should I run the 230v machine on a standard 220v outlet?

Any help is appreciated!

If it is made to be sold in the states and says 2** VAC,( ** being anything), then it will work. If they are variable speed then the input into the drive is what is important. Have fun!

turner23 said:
Hey all,

Is there a difference in a 220v outlet vs. a 230v one? If I choose to buy the Jet, can/should I run the 230v machine on a standard 220v outlet?

Any help is appreciated!