• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Help...turning with a face plate

So I am just getting into turning again some 15 years after the last time I turned. I have had a little success doing small things on the spindle, such as a honey dipper. I decided to try something a bit bigger and with a face plate. I am using a piece of a eucalyptus, from a massive tree that was blown over so it is really green. I am not overly worried about it cracking because I am just practicing and getting the techniques down. My problem came after I got the piece rounded out, and I was trying to start cutting down to a smaller size but I wasn't getting all the way over to my marked point to not hit the screws on the face plate. When I went back to try and bring that area down I kept getting really bad catches that ended with a broken tool rest and chisel, not at the same time. The tool was also my fault, I made a super stupid mistake and used a small fluted gouge. What was I doing wrong with the wood and other chisels?
honey dipper.jpg wood.jpg

I second Dwight's suggestion about hooking up with a club and a coach. You'll make more progress in 3 hours with a coach than you will in 6 months of working on your own.