• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Homemade kiln?

Ok now, remember I'm just a newbie at all this so don't rake me over the coals too bad. I found a youtube video where a guy made a box kiln and it dried his large bowls in about 24 hrs. So my 2 bowls were already predicted to warp and crack on me, so I thought, what the heck. I thought maybe I can dry them a little faster and slow down some warping and/or cracking. I built the box kiln and put both bowls in it. They set all night, probably a total of 15 hrs when I pulled them out. Well both bowls did warp, no noticeable cracks that weren't already in them. But at entry last night, my smaller bowl moisture content was over 14% and the more parabolic bowl was over 16%. When I opened the box today, the small one measure 4.6% and the other was 6.2%. So do you think they dried too fast and this is not a good idea or were they destined for death either way? Btw, here are a couple pics of the box kiln. As you can see on the side is a shop light taped to the side. Under that is a 4" fan that I cut a hole in the box for it sit in the side. The opposite end has a small vent hole for air escape. It was in the 50's this morning in my shop but I could feel nice warm air from the box vent.

Attachments

• box kiln 2.jpg
    box kiln 2.jpg
    129.8 KB · Views: 86
  • box kiln.jpg
    box kiln.jpg
    133.9 KB · Views: 81

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester