• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Looking for Spheres to buy!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm looking for spheres! Or, more aptly, someone who loves to make spheres! I do personally love to make spheres, but I am a beginner and have a big project in mind and looking for help in amassing a supply. These spheres I seek need to be solid wood (made from local sustainably salvaged wood) and between 8"-16" in diameter. I will most likely need to buy in bulk.
If this is not the right place to inquire about buying actual finished wood products, please direct me to a source to find a woodturner interested in selling their products.
Thanks so much!
Rudy

Rudy,

What species of wood are you wanting the solid spheres to be made of? The larger spheres require sizable wood billets which can be a challenge to source if they need to be dry.