• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Need advice on cutting blanks for hollow forms.

I'm new to hollow forms and I'm trying to figure out the best (most common?) way to cut my blanks for turning. I'm not a fan of small stuff (no offense to those that love little things), so I've got some maple and cherry logs that are about 15 to 20 inches in diameter and I want to maximize my hf's. For a bowl, most folks would take a 15" wide log and cut about a 15 or 16" long piece from it, then chainsaw that down the middle and turn 2 bowls from that.

What would be the most common way to cut that log piece up for an HF? One way would be to to just mount the whole log section and do an end grain piece (pith to pith). Would that be the most normal approach? It seems like splitting down the center like for a bowl is going to give me a much smaller form. Is there maybe an article someone might point me to that already talks about this?

Thanks for any suggestions,
Grey

Grey,