• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Recommendation for a Chuck

I need a chuck. I just ordered a Jet 1840 and it should be delivered next week. I was looking at Woodcraft and not sure which would be a good choice. This is my first lathe and I have no turning experience. I could use suggestions at to brand, etc.

Dennis J Gooding

Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Boy, are you going to get inundated with opinions on this! Lots of good brands. I would recommend that whatever you choose, start out with jaws that has about a 2-inch capacity when closed.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
Nice lathe did a demo on an 1840 in January. Not sure how they will sell Powermatics with the 1840 is $2000 less.

First I encourage you to take a class or find a mentor. May be difficult for the foreseeable future.

Lots of choices for chucks - they all pretty much work.

I would recommend the one way stronghold chuck with the ONEWAY jaws.
Once you get into turning you can add the pin jaws if you do ornaments
Add dove tail jaws.
This standard #2 jaws with this chuck take a tenon 2.5” diameter and a little bit less than 1/2 high with a right angle corner. It is best to have a flat surface against the tops of the jaws- this keeps the piece tight against chuck so the tenon cannot “walk” out of the Chuck.