• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Upgrading to a larger lathe

I am relatively new to woodturning and currently own a Jet 1221VS and a Nova Comet II lathe. I am looking at a larger lathe, the Laguna Revo 15/24. It has a little bit larger swing and distance between centers, but not too large to fit into my small shop. Does anybody have any experience with this lathe or comments, or any other lathes I should consider? Thanks

I have little personal experience with Laguna lathes, but nothing bad to say, either.

If you're looking to compile a list of similarly sized lathes to consider I would include the Nova Saturn (or the 1624 with DVR upgrade' which I have).

Nova has a lot of features which appeal to me. The DVR system for speed control has great range and functionality. The headstock rotates instead of sliding, which I like. A swing away and bed extension are options taking the chore out of storing the tailstock.

One downside with some of the Nova products is that the blister type buttons can be difficult to actuate. It's a problem with the upgraded 1624, but the Saturn may be better (the Galaxy has better buttons).

The upgraded 1624 is another option that could save money, but I don't recommend the plain, belt drive, 1624.

Nova also has a new model called Orion that may be replacing the Saturn, but I have not had an opportunity to look it over.