• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Which turning tools to start with.

Hello

I am new to turning and currently do not own a lathe or turning tools. I will be joining a local club which has a loaner lathe. So I am going to start with some basic tools. I was just at a demonstration that the club sponsored and demonstrator was kind enough to recommend two bowl gouges and a spindle gouge. He was recommending Glaser Tools. I check the price and got sticker shock. My question is are these tools worth the price says compared to Sorby or Woodriver. I am looking at a mid-price lathe in the $3000 range [Jet 1840 or Laguna 1836].

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Steve and welcome! Those look like professional tools. As one beginner to another I think you could get away with the Sorby chisels. They're great tools at a good price and when you're ready you can move up to the Glaser tools. I have a mix of tools from different vendors but my Sorby ones are my favorites. I would also throw in a skew chisel into your list. They come in very handy for both bowl and spindle turning.

Yeah, I would pass on the glaser tools. Nice, but expensive. There are plenty of high quality gouges that cost much less with no difference in cutting ability.
During the learning phase just about any tool that you can keep sharpened is the best.
Don't forget to budget for sharpening, several hundred.