• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Alan Hunt

Hi and a happy Sunday to all.
I am new to AAW forums, but with twenty years of turning to under my belt. I was a potter before this for about 20 years too, arthritis cut my potting short.

I love wood and how it feels, smells and looks. I recently moved to the Mojave Desert (Sandy Valley) pros leaving the snow and ice of the Canadian north east (Nova Scotia) and on the con side leaving a boundless source of hardwoods and softwoods alike. I am looking forward to participating in these forums getting honest critique of my work and helpful hints of what is smart to do and what is questionable in what I do. In moving I had to relocate my studio which required building two car garage and fitting the inside with electricity and power and drywalling. Well I completed that about 1.5 years back and have been working finding suitable woods to turn. I do buy imported hardwood, but they are so expensive that sales difficult, even to just reclaim the price of wood. I am fortunate that a small gallery in Idyllwild in the in the San Jacinto mountains carries some of my work.