• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Bandsaw Blades (again!) Confusion regarding Woodturners blade?

Status
Not open for further replies.
First, I'm a novice turner (began in August 2023) andi purchased a Laguna 14BX bandsaw.

I blasted through several blades, first the Woodturners 115" 0.032 from Highland, then a Carter green wood, then another Woodturners, then a Timberwolf 1/2" and now back to Woodturners from Highland. I am assuming user error due to wood catching and grabbing on a 3 TPI aggressive blade. They twisted and I wasnt about to mess with them.

I read practically all info on this site and read over a quoted Odie tutorial and talked to and viewed lots of Alex Snodgrass (https://bandsawlife.com/) YouTubes along with long emails with Laguna technician. In this forum I noted a lot of good comments on the bimetal Lenox blades. Carbide tipped blades are overkill for me I believe.

I purchased sleds from Carter along with their guides (I ruined the ceramic guides that Laguna uses) and I think I learned what I did wrong with the ruined blades. I am better now and have figured out guide adjustment, proper tensioning, feed rate, and stabilizing the wood for crosscuts and resawing. I am also debarking the wood to avoid dulling the blades. I still struggle with rotating a blank to create a round blank despite all the above and making a jig to allow for stable rotation of the blank.