• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Bill Boehme

Bill Boehme

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
pbase.com
I am a retired electrical engineer and have been woodworking for over thirty years. I suddenly took an an interest in woodturning when I retired about fourteen years ago. My best retirement gift was a Rockler Hardware gift certificate. I was thinking of buying a bandsaw because my woodworking interest was still flat and square and involved using measuring tools. But, quite unexpectedly while looking at the bandsaws, a woodturning lathe caught my attention out of the corner of my eye. I tried to ignore it, but it was no use ... I'm not sure why, but I felt that I just had to turn wood. At the time, I was thinking of using the lathe to turn table and chair legs. So far, I have turned exactly one table leg ... someday I might turn the other three. The table is still waiting.

This strange obsession hasn't gotten any better over the years ... In fact it has progressively taken over my entire being and even displaced some of my other activities like fishing, hunting, backpacking, flying, skiing, photography, amateur radio, and gardening. I probably needed to focus my activities anyway.